Nominations Open for Community Mental Health Service Award

The Beaverhead County Mental Health Local Advisory Council announces its annual search for a nominee to receive the Community Mental Health Service award, in memory of former LAC member Howard Gaines.  

The award is presented to an individual who demonstrates leadership in advocating for vulnerable individuals in our area, contributes to the behavioral/mental health field, and/or is committed to collaboration at the community, county, or state level in order to support improved mental health and wellness, according to LAC board member Katherine Buckley-Patton.

The award is presented at the annual Big Sky Behavioral Health Summit set for October 3-4, 2019 on the University of Montana Western campus.  Prior recipients include Julie Ingram, and former LAC chairperson, Lynn Weltzien, as well as a number of other nominees.    

The Beaverhead LAC is a cross section of mental health consumers, activists, and professionals committed to promoting and strengthening integrative behavioral health services. The LAC, its’ members, and collaborators take a leadership role in raising awareness of the impact of adverse childhood experiences on early brain development, provide resilience focused trainings, created the Resource Assistance Center, and are strong advocates for Beaverhead County during the legislative session and on a number of state and regional boards.    

Per Buckley-Patton, “This community service award brings visibility not just to the honored person for their significant contribution, but also highlights the importance of this work.”  She asks those interested in nominating someone to include a summary of how the individual has contributed to the county’s behavioral/mental health through leadership, advocacy and support, implementing programs, collaboration, and/or overall contribution to the behavioral/mental health field in general. 

Nominations are accepted through Friday, August 16th.  Provide submissions to Katherine Buckley-Patton by email at: or regular mail at 830 E Parkview Ct, Dillon, 59725.  Contact her at: 406.660.1637 for more information.

Howard Gaines Nomination Form 2019